Allo' Expat South Korea - Connecting Expats in South Korea
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat South Korea Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter

  South Korea Expat Tips Menu
South Korea Driving License
South Korea Immigration Information
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

South Korea Immigration Information


Any foreign visitors wishing to enter the Republic of Korea must have a valid passport and obtain a Korean visa before coming. But people of 99 countries who want to visit Korea temporarily are permitted to enter without a visa according to visa-exemption agreements, or in accordance with principles reciprocity or national interest.

Countries under Visa Exemption Agreements

Europe (90 days unless stated)

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy (60 days), Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal (60 days), Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK

Asia & Oceania (90 days unless stated)

Bangladesh, Israel, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Singapore, Thailand, Turkey

The Americas (90 days unless stated)
Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Commonwealth of Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Haiti, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, St Lucia, St Kitts & Nevis, St Vincent & the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago.
Africa (90 days unless stated)
Lesotho (60 days), Liberia, Morocco, Tunisia (30 days)

Countries under Principles of Reciprocity and National Interest

Europe (30 days unless stated)
Albania, Croatia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Monaco, Slovenia (90 days), Vatican
Asia & Oceania (30 days unless stated)
Australia (90 days), Brunei, Fiji, Guam, Hong Kong (90 days), Japan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Macao, Marshall Islands, Nauru (90 days), New Caledonia, Oman, Palau, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Taiwan, UAE, Yemen
The Americas (30 days unless stated)
Argentina, Canada (180 days), Chile, Guatemala, Honduras, Paraguay, Uruguay, USA, Venezuela
Africa (30 days unless stated)
South Africa, Swaziland

Visa Type

Tourist & Business Visas
Visitors from countries not under Visa Exemption Agreements must apply for a visa extension if planning to stay for more than 30 days. Depending on the situation of the consulate, the visa extension will be issued 1 to 3 days from the day of application. Applicants require a completed application form, a recent passport-size colour photo and application fee. Visitors do not require the outbound flight ticket. Visa extensions are usually for 90 days.

All visas including long-term visas are for a single visit. Therefore anyone who wishes to leave the country and re-enter later on during the allowed period of stay should obtain the Re-entry Permit from the Ministry of Justice prior to departure. For business visas, the intention of activities must be clearly stated on the visa application form.

See more information on the next page... (next)




copyrights ©
2017 | Policy